Home > Project Updates > So…Yahoo This! is broken again…

So…Yahoo This! is broken again…

I’ve gotten a slew of emails saying that Yahoo doesn’t respond to the commands that my extension invokes. I’m gonna reroll the code back to 2.1.4….hopefully I’ll figure out why it doesn’t work soon.

I don’t understand why people don’t use GMail….
Would someone please give me their reasoning for using Yahoo’s or Hotmail’s decrepit email service?
If it’s because you want to keep your old email address, then that’s stupid. GMail allows you to receive and send mail with other email addresses, i.e. I can send and receive mail from gwu.edu while logged into my gmail account. It’s like a 5-step process tog et it setup, but it’s totally worth it.

Categories: Project Updates
  1. Jonathan Killen
    June 11, 2008 at 10:06 am

    I spare you another email since it looks like you already heard that Yahoo This! is not working in the current (2.2.1) version.

    The reason I prefer Yahoo email is I just like the user interface better. I also have an email account with GMail that I use some (and some email I forward to my Yahoo account), but I still prefer my Yahoo email. I like being able to multi-select email and drag-and-drop them to a folder. I like that I can open up multiple emails as separate tabs and flip back and forth between them. I like that I can open emails in the reading pane to quickly go through emails. Also the keyboard commands (which GMail also has) make things go faster.

    So, the short answer is I just prefer Yahoo email’s user interface. Hope that helps.

    Thanks for a great Firefox extension!

  2. June 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Woohoo, a response! 🙂

    Alright, that’s fair. The features you mentioned are nice, and I could see myself using them, but it seems to be that Yahoo is quite sluggish for me, at least their bulky interface.

    Which interface loads faster for you? Yahoo or Gmail, or are they evenly-paced?

  3. Jonathan Killen
    June 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Gmail loads a little faster. For me, once Yahoo is loaded it does fine. That is one thing I agree with you on, Yahoo email should load faster.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

