Home > Project Updates > Plans for Summer 2009

Plans for Summer 2009

As I mentioned in an earlier blog post, I’m in Scotland until the end of July for a research fellowship in nuclear physics. I’ll pretty much be spending my days writing software towards my research, but my work-days end early, which leaves me a lot of free time. Since I’m not a big drinker, I don’t have much to do here in Glasgow, and for those who don’t know, Glasgow is a heavy drinking-oriented city, which isn’t bad (everyone is happy and nice), but it’s just not my cup of tea.

Seeing that I’ll have a lot of free time, I plan on using it to beef up my programming skills. How do I plan on doing this? First off, I plan on brushing up on my Javascript and XUL (again) since I only use it every 6-months or so, and I tend to forget how certain things work.

I want to accomplish the following (for the programs that I’ve already made) by September:

    1. BCC Option for Email This!
    2. More Preferences for Email This!
    3. Custom Download Directory for FacePAD
    4. Language Localization for FacePAD

Now, I want to venture out a bit as well. I want to attempt to write one program for either JetPack, Ubiquity, or Greasemonkey, all of which allow me to extend firefox with simple Javascript scripts. We’ll see if I make any progress…

I also want to add an FAQ section for FacePAD because I keep getting emails about the same two or three questions.
Lastly, I’d like to state that writing and maintaining these extensions is simply a hobby for me. I offer support for these extensions because I feel that I owe that much to the end-user, but I make no promises on implementing features or fixing bugs in a timely manner.

On a final final final note, I’ve been closely monitoring Google’s OSX nightly builds for Chrome, their web-browser. I do this since I’m a google fanboy and since it’s a program I’d like to extend as soon as it comes out of basic development for OSX.

Alright, that’s all for now. Feel free to contact me with your questions/suggestions/comments/concerns!

Ciao!

Categories: Project Updates
  1. May 26, 2009 at 3:00 am

    Мне кажется или автор что-то недоговаривает

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

